Skip to content

Tennis and 10 1/2 months post bunionectomy

July 22, 2012

Right foot is now 1 year 3 months; Left foot is 10 1/2 months

Well it’s been quite a while since I updated this blog. I decided to update this time with a special guest star of my right foot! I had the mini-tightrope procedure done on the right foot on April 29, 2011. (Today is July 22, 2012.) As you can see, that foot had a bit better outcome than the left foot.

I am playing tennis again. Not as often as I would like. I still hear the Doctor’s words in my head  that it is one of the worst sports for your feet. However, I am enjoying it and the right foot generally feels fine after playing. The left foot gets sore around the toe joint. After one particularly long match I think I damaged the second toenail a bit as the Great toe still rubs the second toe on the left foot.

I had to buy wide tennis shoes for the first time in my life. I think the surgery made some things in the feet shift around a bit, and the left foot gets sore along the edge. I am afraid I am going to develop a tailors bunion there.

In any case, New Balance makes tennis shoes that come in wide widths.

I have not really purchased new regular shoes. I tried and still have problems fitting them. As you can see, I still have bunions. The right one is reduced significantly but I would still classify this as a moderate bunion. The left one, in my book, is still severe.  I definitely still hate shoe shopping and that makes me sad. I am not wearing the sketchers any more. They have started not being comfortable. The clogs (Sanita) are also hard on my feet because they are so hard. It has been suggested I put some gel insoles in them which I will try. My feet are happiest in sneakers, but at work I wear old flats that have a wide toe box or that were already stretched out in the bunion area from before the surgery. I never wear flipflops.  I used to wear them around the pool but one of the buttons in the foot has kind of set to the top of my foot ( you can feel it underneath the skin) and the straps on flip flops rub it in a very painful way. The other foot you can feel a button just under the surface of the skin between the second and third metatarsal. Not something I had expected.

Anyway, it’s been a long time since I posted. As far as life goes things are getting back to normal, but as far as the feet go. Not satisfied. It’s too early to write The Final Summary, but I will at the one year mark.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

