Skip to content

Scarring and Plastic Surgery

November 6, 2011

You will have scars. I didn’t really give it much thought before the surgery, but the scars on my right foot, 6 months since surgery, are pretty ugly. I’m told it takes a year for the scar to completely “settle”.

I wonder how a doctor might feel if asked to do a plastic surgery type of closure? Or to get a plastic surgeon to do the final closures? (It’s a special kind of wound closure that results in a finer scar.) I don’t know if they would even allow it, but if you think you are going to be upset by the fact that you may have a big red welt on  your foot, it might be worth a conversation. (I would think it’s easier to have a plastics doc close up  the original incision  than have scar revision surgery later?) Surely it would be easier on the patient, physically, but I have to guess that with the healthcare situation in the U.S., it would get a little hairy insurance-wise.  But, I’m not a doctor, not an insurance agent, and I am only surmising.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

