Skip to content

Mini Tightrope Bunionectomy: Day 2

September 10, 2011

On Saturday, one day after bunion surgery,  the leg was still numb from the nerve block.  This leg seemed number ( if that’s possible!) than  when I had the right bunion repaired. This time  it felt like the whole leg was numb whereas the last time it just felt like it was blocked from the knee down. The full leg numbness made “crutching” a little harder (harder to lift the leg from the hip) and, since I had a tendency to drop the foot when the nerve block is in action, I was more wary of banging it on something.  Since the timing was different (this surgery was in the morning versus the afternoon) and I was awake I figured I would be able to feel it coming back so Friday I took a break from the painkiller tablets.  Nevertheless, I started taking them again on Saturday so as to avoid any sudden pain when the nerve block wore off.

I could feel the numbness wearing off but I can say that it didn’t fully wear off until Sunday morning. It felt tingly as it came back, but not too much pain.Most of Saturday I just lounged around with my foot up and snoozed off an on.  The pain is manageable but definitely take the pills as directed. Last time I tried to wean myself off them too early and had to go back to the maximum dose after missing just one. I was able to get off them in about a week and a half to two weeks.

My pain pills do not make me nauseous, but do make me a little dizzy sometimes. They have you covered for that, though. They prescribe other meds to counteract the nausea.


From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

